About the Team

About the Team


The Toronto Wolfpack

Toronto Wolfpack are a professional Rugby League team dedicated to progressing through the RFL’s ranks, from League 1 to the Super League. We are the world’s first transatlantic major professional sports team.

We began our journey in 2017 winning the Kingstone Press League 1 title and promotion in our inaugural season. In 2018 we are competing in the Betfred Championship for the first time. Our home games are held at Lamport Stadium, Toronto, aka “The Den”.

The entire Toronto Wolfpack organisation is driven by three core beliefs and aspirations:

We believe the world is a better place with more rugby balls in more kids’ hands.

We aspire to create a global centre for rugby excellence in Toronto.

We proudly support family run local businesses, while championing UK-Canadian trade.


The RFL was founded in 1895 in Huddersfield, West Yorkshire, United Kingdom. The professional game is split into 3 divisions – the First Utility Super League, the Championship and League 1 – with promotion relegation between them. It remains the standard for Rugby League in the northern hemisphere and the Super League second most watched and followed professional sports league in the UK.

Competition Structure

The Toronto Wolfpack will begin their Rugby League Championship campaign in February. The Wolfpack are one of 12 teams alongside opponents from England and France. The Championship season consists of 23 regular season matches as all teams play each other home and away, as well playing an extra game at the ‘Summer Bash’ in May.

At the end of the season the top 4 clubs advance to the Super 8’s where they are joined by the bottom 4 teams in the Betfred Super League. At the conclusion of the Super 8’s the top 3 clubs are awarded a place in the 2019 Super League, while the 4th and 5th placed team play off for the final place in what is dubbed the “million pound game”.


How the Game is Played

A Rugby League match is played between two teams of 13 players and lasts 80 minutes, with one 15-minute halftime break between halves. Both teams are allowed four extra players as replacements.

A ‘try’ involves touching the ball to the ground on or beyond the defending team’s goal-line, and is worth four points. A ‘goal’ may be gained from a kicked conversion after a try or a penalty and is worth two points. A field goal, or drop goal, is gained by dropping and then kicking the ball on the half volley between the uprights in open play and is worth one point. An attacking team gets a maximum of six tackles to progress up the field before possession is changed over. Tackles above the chest and shoulder charges are not allowed.

tags, as close as possible to the opening tag. Creation Date: 06/07/2018 --> tags, as close as possible to the opening tag. Creation Date: 06/07/2018 --> tags, as close as possible to the opening tag. Creation Date: 06/07/2018 -->